UCF Global Perspectives


Small Countries Ratify UN Climate Change Deal

Christy Box, Isle of Man Small Countries Fellow

September 21, 2016

Several small island nations ratified the Paris Agreement on climate change on September 21 (AP). Although 175 countries signed the agreement, it will not take effect until at least 55 countries accounting for 55% of global emissions ratify (AP, UN). Many small countries were among the first to ratify the agreement, including Belize, Tuvalu, Nauru, the Bahamas, Samoa, Palau and the Maldives. The UN stated that Kiribati, Antigua and Barbuda, the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu have also ratified (UNTC).

Small countries are often greatly affected by the threat of climate change. Tuvalu and the Maldives are low-lying island nations that would be drastically impacted by rising sea levels (Reuters 1). Kiribati is facing extreme coastal erosion due to climate change (Reuters 2). The new ratifications bring the agreement close to going into effect; it is now above the country minimum and just short of the emission minimum (AP).









Tags: , , , , , ,